FAQ

  • When does the court open its doors?

    The Stuttgart Commercial Court and the Mannheim Commercial Court opened their doors on 1 November 2020!

  • Over what proceedings do the Stuttgart Commercial Court and the Mannheim Commercial Court have jurisdiction?

    The Stuttgart Commercial Court and the Mannheim Commercial Court are the courts of first instance for major civil hearings under commercial law, especially corporate disputes (regardless of the value in dispute in Stuttgart), corporate acquisitions and significant financial disputes in the B2B sector, provided that one or more other civil divisions do not have special jurisdiction.

  • How do I bring my case to the Stuttgart Commercial Court or the Mannheim Commercial Court?
    • You and your contractual partner can select a legal venue by contractual agreement in accordance with the provisions of Section 38 ZPO and Article 25 of the Brussels I Regulation, and in doing so choose the Regional Court of Stuttgart or the Regional Court of Mannheim.
    • Before a dispute arises, you can incorporate a legal venue agreement into a contract or conclude one separately. Even after a dispute arises, you can still enter into such an agreement before you go to court.
    • If you have not agreed a legal venue at all with your contractual partner but your contractual partner is based in the district over which the Regional Court of Stuttgart or the Regional Court of Mannheim has jurisdiction or the contractual place of performance is in one of these districts, you can bring a lawsuit against your contractual partner at either court regardless of whether or not a specific legal venue has been agreed upon. And with regard to certain proceedings in connection with the German Stock Corporation Act (AktG), the Commercial Divisions in the Stuttgart Commercial Court and the Mannheim Commercial Court have exclusive jurisdiction if no legal venue has been agreed
  • Where are the courts situated?

    Click here for the best way to find our courts.

  • What language is used during litigation?
    • The language of the court is German. However, all of the judges are able to conduct verbal proceedings in English if you wish, making it unnecessary to engage the services of an English language interpreter in accordance with Section 185(2) GVG.
    • Additionally, Section 142(3) ZPO provides the option of introducing foreign-language documents into the proceedings without translations, eliminating the need for expensive translations, especially of contractual documents.
  • Why Mannheim?

    The Rhine-Neckar Metropolitan Region is one of the most attractive and most competitive regions in Europe. Numerous large and medium-sized companies are based there. The Regional Court of Mannheim has enjoyed an outstanding reputation for antitrust and patent law for years. Not only have the patent divisions of the Regional Court of Mannheim arbitrated disputes between German parties in recent years, but even large international enterprises have called on the Regional Court of Mannheim to arbitrate their patent disputes on more than one occasion. Now, the existing focus on antitrust and patent law in Mannheim is being broadened to encompass other fields of commercial law in the form of the Mannheim Commercial Court.

  • Why Stuttgart?

    The Stuttgart region is one of the most important and most successful economic hubs in Europe. Numerous public companies and societates Europaea (European public companies) are based in the district over which the Higher Regional Court of Stuttgart has jurisdiction. Many of the companies based here are world leaders, especially in the mechanical engineering and automotive industries. In the event of a dispute, these companies should be able to rely on a functional local legal system which produces quick, effective and professional decisions for legal certainty.

  • What are the benefits of the Stuttgart Commercial Court and the Mannheim Commercial Court?

    You can read about the benefits here.

  • By what rules do the Stuttgart Commercial Court and the Mannheim Commercial Court play?

    As a rule, litigation is subject to the regulations of the German Courts Constitution Act (GVG) and the German Code of Civil Procedure (ZPO). At the same time, the parties have numerous means of mutually adapting the prevailing procedural law for themselves.

  • How much does a hearing cost at the Stuttgart Commercial Court or the Mannheim Commercial Court?

    The system of court fees is laid down by law in Germany. The law imposes a cap on court fees when the value in dispute reaches € 30 million.

  • Who will decide on my case?

    You can find our judges here.

  • How can I enforce my judgement in Germany and abroad?
    • If a judgement is subject to a temporary enforcement order, even filing an appeal cannot impede its compulsory enforcement.
    • Under Regulation (EU) No 1215/2012 (the Brussels I Regulation), German state judgements in civil and commercial matters can be enforced relatively quickly and easily in their field of application. In accordance with Article 39 of the Brussels I Regulation, a judgement given in a Member State which is enforceable in that Member State shall be enforceable in the other Member States without any declaration of enforceability being required. Additionally, the 2007 Lugano Convention between the EU and Norway, Iceland and Switzerland facilitates the recognition and enforcement of judgements in civil and commercial matters in the European Economic Area and Switzerland.
  • Who can I contact if I would like more information?

    You can find our representatives here.

  • What sample cases might the Stuttgart Commercial Court and the Mannheim Commercial Court hear?

    You have signed a contract to purchase shares in a company and there is a dispute about mutual claims after the closing. Your client, a car supplier, has undertaken to supply important manufacturing components on time and your client is potentially facing millions in damage due to the fault of a third party. You, a supervisory board, are considering filing a lawsuit against a former management board member of a public company (an Aktiengesellschaft) due to breaches of duty. These are cases in which the Stuttgart Commercial Court and the Mannheim Commercial Court could help resolve the conflict.

FAQ

  • Wann nimmt das Gericht seine Tätigkeit auf?

    Zum 1. November 2020 sind der Stuttgart Commercial Court und der Mannheim Commercial Court gestartet!

  • Für welche Verfahren sind der Stuttgart Commercial Court und der Mannheim Commercial Court zuständig?

    Der Stuttgart Commercial Court und der Mannheim Commercial Court sind erstinstanzlich für große Wirtschafts-Zivilverfahren zuständig, insbesondere für gesellschaftsrechtliche Streitigkeiten (in Stuttgart streitwertunabhängig), Unternehmenskäufe und wirtschaftlich bedeutsame erstinstanzliche Streitigkeiten im B2B-Bereich, soweit nicht eine Spezialzuständigkeit einer oder mehrerer anderer Zivilkammern besteht.

  • Wie bringe ich meinen Fall zum Stuttgart Commercial Court oder zum Mannheim Commercial Court?
    • Sie können mit Ihrem Vertragspartner eine Gerichtsstandsvereinbarung nach den Maßgaben des § 38 ZPO beziehungsweise Artikel 25 der Verordnung (EU) Nr. 1215/2012 (Brüssel Ia-VO) schließen und darin das Landgericht Stuttgart oder das Landgericht Mannheim anwählen.
    • Eine solche Gerichtsstandsvereinbarung können Sie bereits vor Entstehen einer Streitigkeit in einen Vertrag einbauen oder isoliert treffen. Auch nach Entstehen einer Streitigkeit können Sie noch eine solche Vereinbarung treffen, bevor Sie zu Gericht gehen.
    • Wenn Sie überhaupt keine Gerichtsstandsvereinbarung mit Ihrem Vertragspartner geschlossen haben, aber Ihr Vertragspartner seinen Sitz im Bezirk des Landgerichts Stuttgart oder des Landgerichts Mannheim hat oder sich der vertragliche Erfüllungsort in diesem Bezirk befindet, können Sie Ihren Vertragspartner auch unabhängig von einer Gerichtsstandsvereinbarung vor dem jeweiligen Gericht verklagen. Auch bei bestimmten aktienrechtlichen Verfahren ist die in den Stuttgart Commercial Court und in den Mannheim Commercial Court eingebundene Kammer für Handelssachen ohne Gerichtsstandsvereinbarung ausschließlich zuständig.
  • Wo liegen die Gerichte?

    Wie Sie unsere Gerichte am schnellsten erreichen, erfahren Sie hier.

  • In welcher Sprache wird verhandelt?
    • Die Gerichtssprache ist grundsätzlich Deutsch. Allerdings sind alle Richterinnen und Richter in der Lage, eine mündliche Verhandlung auch auf Englisch zu führen, sodass die Hinzuziehung eines Dolmetschenden für die englische Sprache gemäß § 185 Absatz 2 GVG unterbleiben kann, wenn Sie und Ihre Gegenseite dies wünschen.
    • Zudem kann von der Möglichkeit des § 142 Absatz 3 ZPO Gebrauch gemacht werden, fremdsprachige Urkunden ohne Übersetzung in den Prozess einzuführen, sodass auf aufwendige Übersetzungen, insbesondere von Vertragsdokumenten, verzichtet werden kann.
  • Warum Mannheim?

    Die Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar ist eine der attraktivsten und wettbewerbsfähigsten Regionen Europas. Zahlreiche große und kleinere Unternehmen haben hier ihren Sitz. Das Landgericht Mannheim verfügt bereits seit Jahren über einen hervorragenden Ruf namentlich im Kartell- und Patentrecht. Vor den Patentkammern des Landgerichts Mannheim wurden in den letzten Jahren nicht nur Streitigkeiten zwischen deutschen Parteien entschieden, auch große internationale Wirtschaftsunternehmen haben das Landgericht Mannheim bereits mehrfach zur Entscheidung ihrer Patentstreitigkeiten angerufen. Mit dem Mannheim Commercial Court soll nun der in Mannheim bereits vorhandene Schwerpunkt im Kartell- und Patentrecht um einen weiteren Schwerpunkt in anderen Bereichen des Wirtschaftsrechts ergänzt werden.

  • Warum Stuttgart?

    Die Region Stuttgart ist einer der wichtigsten und erfolgreichsten Wirtschaftsstandorte in Europa. Zahlreiche Aktiengesellschaften und SE (europäische Aktiengesellschaften) haben ihren Sitz im Bezirk des Oberlandesgerichts Stuttgart. Viele der hier ansässigen Unternehmen, insbesondere im Bereich des Maschinenbaus und der Automobilindustrie, sind Weltmarktführer. Diese Unternehmen sollen die Möglichkeit haben, sich auf kurze Wege und ein gut funktionierendes Rechtssystem im Konfliktfall verlassen zu können, das schnelle, effektive und sachgerechte Entscheidungen produziert und damit Rechtssicherheit schafft.

  • Welche Vorteile bieten der Stuttgart Commercial Court und der Mannheim Commercial Court?
  • Nach welchen Regeln verhandeln der Stuttgart Commercial Court und der Mannheim Commercial Court?

    Das Verfahren richtet sich grundsätzlich nach den Regeln des GVG und der ZPO. Zugleich ist es den Parteien vielfach möglich, übereinstimmend das maßgebliche Verfahrensrecht für sie maßgerecht anzupassen.

  • Was kostet ein Verfahren vor dem Stuttgart Commercial Court oder dem Mannheim Commercial Court?

    Das deutsche Gerichtsgebührensystem ist gesetzlich festgelegt. Es enthält eine Kappungsgrenze für Gerichtsgebühren bei einem Streitwert von 30 Millionen Euro.

  • Wer entscheidet meinen Fall?
  • Wie kann ich mein Urteil im In- und Ausland vollstrecken?
    • Eine Anordnung der vorläufigen Vollstreckbarkeit des Urteils führt dazu, dass auch die Einlegung von Rechtsmitteln eine Zwangsvollstreckung nicht verzögern kann.
    • Aufgrund der Verordnung (EU) Nr. 1215/2012 (Brüssel Ia-VO) können deutsche staatliche Urteile in Zivil- und Handelssachen in deren Anwendungsbereich vergleichsweise zügig und einfach durchgesetzt werden. Nach Artikel 39 Brüssel Ia-VO ist eine in einem Mitgliedstaat ergangene, dort vollstreckbare Entscheidung in den anderen Mitgliedstaaten vollstreckbar, ohne dass es einer Vollstreckbarerklärung bedarf. Ferner erleichtert auch das Lugano-Abkommen von 2007 zwischen der EU und Norwegen, Island und der Schweiz die Anerkennung und Vollstreckung von Urteilen in Zivil- und Handelssachen im EWR-Raum und in der Schweiz.
  • An wen kann ich mich wenden, wenn ich gerne weitere Informationen hätte?
  • Welche Beispielfälle könnten den Stuttgart Commercial Court oder den Mannheim Commercial Court beschäftigen?

    Sie haben einen Kaufvertrag über Unternehmensanteile geschlossen und es gibt nach dem Closing Streit über wechselseitige Ansprüche? Ihr Mandant hat sich als Automobilzulieferer verpflichtet, für die Produktion wichtige Teile fristgerecht zu liefern, und aufgrund des Fehlers eines Dritten drohen Ihrem Mandanten Millionenschäden? Oder Sie erwägen als Aufsichtsrat, ein ehemaliges Vorstandsmitglied einer Aktiengesellschaft wegen Pflichtverletzungen in Haftung zu nehmen? Das sind Fälle, in denen der Stuttgart Commercial Court und der Mannheim Commercial Court zur Konfliktlösung beitragen können.